Audio/Video Creation: Beginner Level

September 8, 2016

headphones-clip-art-headphones-md

My solution to mixing and matching elements to create a complete video is OpenShot. I add tracks and place media elements (audio and video) at the timeslot where I want it to begin. For example, you generally want to add a video at the very beginning (timeslot 0:00:00.000), and an audio track at that same timeslot or shortly thereafter.

I like OpenShot, because as long as the memory holds out and there isn’t too much going on, you can preview the video as you have it laid out.

Which brings me to the first hiccup in mixing a video: Too many elements loaded will cause OpenShot to crash. Originally, I thought I would just add a bunch of audio elements at various points along a track parallel to the video track. However, this is not working. The number of audio tracks is overloading OpenShot somehow, so when I add an audio element to the track, and then do anything other than save the track, such as preview the change, the software crashes. I need to find a better solution to the audio track.

I have tested other video mixers, but none of them allow the work to flow like OpenShot does, and none of them allow me to handle a large bundle of short audio files, so OpenShot simply feels like the superior mixing software for now.

 

