Team Fortress 2: MvM Is Back

October 14, 2016

Sun1

I have recently discovered that Mann Vs. Machine mode in Team Fortress 2 on Linux is operational again, after weeks, perhaps months of giving me weird messages that prevented me from accessing matches. I only ever play Boot Camp “practice” rounds, but that’s good enough for me. I have so much fun in Mann vs. Machine mode, so I’m really glad it is back in play.

In Mann vs. Machine mode, a team of 6 human players team up and fight multiple waves of computer-controlled robots. I find it a great way to enjoy team play-fighting on the computer, without having to endure trash talk from the opposing team.

It can be very tough, and I think the difficulty level was raised about a year ago, but when the team comes together and wins the match, it’s really uplifting. I don’t know of another game that makes a friendly team out of complete strangers so well, and doesn’t require an opposing human team. It’s a little more relaxing, especially considering that you don’t have to deal with that kind of player on the opposing team. The kind that likes to throw out insults, taunts, and other garbage.

 

