Monday Movie Retrospective

December 12, 2016

three-amigos

Comedians. They are interesting people. The very best make comedy, some of the most difficult entertainment there is, look easy.

Such is the case with the cast of “The Three Amigos” (1986).

It stars Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short are the titular three main characters of the film. Alfonso Arau and Tony Plana bring even more comedy to the film as the bad guys. This movie is a great comedy collaboration.

Personally, I found the movie predictable and a little boring, but repeated viewings and the urging of major fans of the movie have changed my mind. This is good entertainment, using a situation that has not been explored much since westerns fell out of favor.

The thing that surprised me was how much sense the Martin Short character makes. I definitely like him better than the other two leads, but his character, with his shorter stature makes sense as the fastest draw. Hey, everybody has a talent. And this character’s talent is the quick-draw. That, and attracting a hidden bonita senorita at the end of the movie out of the blue, but that’s part of the charm of the movie’s predictable “surprise” ending. What can I say? I have seen too many Bob Hope/Bing Crosby movies for this to have “caught” me by surprise.

It’s good, clean fun.

 

